Community Foundation Announces 2021 Lilly Scholars

Four graduating seniors in Clark and Floyd counties will receive the generous, well-earned gift of four-year scholarships as the Community Foundation of Southern Indiana’s 2021 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

In addition to full tuition to an accredited public or private nonprofit college or university in Indiana of their choice, the students will receive a $900 annual stipend for books and equipment.

The Community Foundation of Southern Indiana administers the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship program locally. Students in all accredited public and private high schools in Clark and Floyd counties were invited to apply. Applications from each county were reviewed and scored by an independent committee of civic volunteers who assessed applicants in a blind review process.

Once the 12 semi-finalists were determined from the 221 applicants this year, each was individually interviewed, according to Crystal Gunther, director of community philanthropy for the Community Foundation of Southern Indiana. Finalists were then selected and their names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana Inc. (ICI) for selection of the recipients. ICI is a non-profit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited, degree-granting, non-profit private colleges and universities in Indiana, and is the statewide administrator of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state. There were 143scholarships awarded statewide.

“Congratulations to all of the finalists and thank you to Lilly Endowment Inc. which has been incredibly supportive of our foundation and this community,” said Linda Speed, president and CEO of the Community Foundation. “Because of the generosity of this scholarship program we are able to award these life-changing, four-year scholarships to deserving students in Clark and Floyd counties who will go on to pursue their education and achieve their goals.”

In addition to selecting the recipients, alternates were selected in each county in the event that the chosen recipients select a college outside of Indiana or a course of study other than a bachelor’s degree, or receive a scholarship that supersedes the Lilly honor. Lilly recipients must declare his or her college choice and course of study by April 30, 2021.

Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

Clark County
– Katie Baumgartle, Jeffersonville High School        
– Jenna Dupont, Silver Creek High School

Floyd County
– Jia Jia Hodgson, New Albany High School        
– Sophia Hottois, Providence High School              

Other Scholarships Now Available
High school seniors who wish to apply for other scholarships can do so now at the Community Foundation’s website. The online application will be open until noon on February 1, 2021. Those interested are encouraged to visit for more information or to complete their application.

Share This Story
Press Releases, Scholarships
Community Resources

We are your community foundation.

Get in touch with us to discuss your how together we can make Southern Indiana’s future even brighter!

Back to Top

IT'S OFFICIAL: The Community Foundation of Southern Indiana has been awarded a $3.75 MILLION Matching Grant from the Lilly Endowment! Learn how you can help us award an estimated additional $200,000 in local grants - a 50% annual increase - each year. Forever.

window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-9242094-1');